2017 Annual Dinner


Order tickets to The Trollope Society’s 2017 Annual Dinner, with keynote speaker James R. Kincaid, to be held May 8, 2017 in New York, NY.


Product Description

We are delighted that James R. Kincaid, a longtime Trolllopian and Victorian scholar, will be the keynote speaker for The Trollope Society’s 2017 Annual Dinner. Professor Kincaid will deliver an address on “Trollope’s Kindness,” on the balanced and delicately poised way in which Trollope deflects easy judgment and satiric fury into a moving, never stressed vision of what wonders tolerance and complex sympathy can do. The tough-minded, unsentimental Trollope not only allows us access to human lives at their most fragile and unprotected but, in the process, allows our hearts to grow.

The dinner will be on Monday, May 8, 2017, at The Knickerbocker Club, 807 Fifth Avenue at 62nd Street, New York, NY. The reception will begin at 6:30 p.m., with dinner following at 7:30 p.m. Black tie.

James KincaidJames R. Kincaid is currently Adjunct Professor at the University of Pittsburgh and Professor Emeritus of English and Aerol Arnold Professor Emeritus of English at the University of Southern California. His publications include Dickens and the Rhetoric of Laughter, Tennyson’s Major Poems, The Novels of Anthony Trollope, and Annoying the Victorians. He has also written four novels, including Lost.

Kincaid has been a Guggenheim Fellow, won teaching awards, and run two prestigious seminars for the National Endowment for the Humanities. He has published in many major scholarly journals and popular periodicals and newspapers, including Critical Inquiry, PMLA, Nineteenth-Century Literature, JEGP, ADE Bulletin, Yale Review, New York Times Book Review, and the New Yorker. He has also served on the editorial boards of PMLA, Victorian Poetry, Nineteenth Century Studies, Dickens Studies Annual, Nineteenth-Century Literature, and the Journal of Narrative and Life History. He has been a consultant to the Guggenheim foundation and received USC’s Raubenheimer Outstanding Senior Faculty Award for Teaching and Scholarship.

Reserve your seat today using the online form at the top of this page. You may also download a reservation form to return by mail.